California Passes Minimum Wage Increase
California workers may find a bit more to be thankful for this year, as
the Governor passed a minimum wage increase from the previous $8.00 an
hour to $10 per hour. San Francisco is still a leader for prevailing wages,
and beats the national and California law minimum wage, requiring employers
to pay a minimum wage of $10.50 per hour. The $10 minimum wage in California
will gradually be phased in until it becomes the law of the land in 2016.
The bill increasing minimum wage is not indexed to inflation, ensuring
further fights for California workers to maintain a living wage.